1. Help Center
  2. Roles & Permissions

Creating and editing user roles & permissions

User roles control what users can see and do in your organization through user role permissions. You can use default user role or create your own customized user roles.

Default user role

All new users have the standard user role to cover all permission configurations. The user role permissions for the default user role is editable, and is automatically updated as new product features are released.

See a list of permissions.

Create a user role

To create a role, you must have the permission. By default, the owners of a project or an organization have this permission and can create and manage roles.

To create a new role from scratch

  1. Signin to your DataRow account and connect to your database.
  2. Click user profile at the top-right corner.
  3. Click Settings › Roles & Permissions
  4. Click ⊕ New Role.
  5. Enter a name for the role.
  6. Select the permissions needed for the users who will fill this user role.
  7. Click Save.

Editing an existing role & its permissions

  1. Signin to your DataRow account and connect to your database.
  2. Click user profile at the top-right corner.
  3. Click Settings › Roles & Permissions
  4. Click Edit Permissions of the role you'd like to edit.
  5. Edit the name, and selected permissions.
  6. Click Save.

Delete a role

  1. Signin to your DataRow account and connect to your database.
  2. Click user profile at the top-right corner.
  3. Click Settings › Roles & Permissions
  4. Click Delete Permissions of the role you'd like to delete.
  5. Click Save.